Blackview User Forum

 
chrisostomul
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:36 pm

barometer/air pressure sensor

Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:32 am

Hello Admin, hello everybody

I have a problem with the pressure sensor on my bv9500. I've opened the phone for lte antenna replacement. I am very veeeery happy now with the signal strength. Unfortunately the pressure sensor is not working anymore. I would like to address this issue but i need a photo or some information about where is the sensor located inside the phone. I know I could open the phone and look for any disconnected cable or anything that looks odd, but it would be time consuming and the chances to find it are low. Or, at least a picture of the sensor so I could recognize when I see it.

Thank you
 
Tech Addict
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:53 am

Re: barometer/air pressure sensor

Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:04 am

It's unlikely to be a cable unless a contact is broken off of a ribbon cable connector. Otherwise, more than just a barometric sensor would be failing.

Of course, "did you first factory reset and lose all your custom settings"?

So does it not detect the chip at all, or so you just get an unchanging reading? If the latter, can you launch the barometer app, stick the phone inside a gallon or quart sized Ziploc bag inflated with air, close the zipper tight, and squeeze the bag gently to see if that changes the reading?

I realize this stunt won't fix anything but it could give you more information.
 
chrisostomul
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:36 pm

Re: barometer/air pressure sensor

Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:03 am

Well, it's not showing any reading. Factory reset? It was freshly flashed with original ROM and then updated via ota to the March update. Actually, when doing the antenna I had a gsi ROM installed on the phone (either oreo or pie - both worked good except for the proximity sensor, which is a known bug for those ROMs). Now, first time, I changed both antennas with copper wires but one of the wires had bad or no connection (there was good signal on 4g but no internet). At that point the pressure sensor worked. Then i opened the phone again, put back the original antenna (the one in the bottom-left corner) and modified/fixed the copper-wire-antenna in the top-right corner. Good signal, good internet. By the time of doing this I ended up disconnecting the back speaker wires (which i soldered back). After closing the phone back in one piece I started testing it for signal, call, text, sound, wifi, compass, microphone. At this point I found out pressure sensor is not working anymore. Now this is not a very important feature for me but you know how you feel knowing that it used to work and now it doesn't... On one hand I want to fix it but on the other hand I'd like to know what to look for or where to look for it before disassebling the phone again.
 
Tech Addict
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:53 am

Re: barometer/air pressure sensor

Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:26 am

So there ARE custom ROMs available. Do they allow use of the two way radio? And do you have to work your way through a Russian site to find them?

I had mine apart several times. One of these times, one of the contacts on the 60-pin ribbon that connects the motherboard and the USB module at the bottom broke off. Everything still seemed to work, so I used the phone normally. Then it was time to charge. Nope. Didn't work. Fortunately, wireless charging still did. It's probably something similar for you, a single contact on one of the ribbons is broken. But you know this already, I believe.

Thing is, even if the chip is identified, there's no way to inspect if the problem is a broken contact on a ribbon cable without risking more damage. If this is the only item not working, it's most likely going to be just one contact, not the whole cable, otherwise other things would be inoperative as well. The smallest ribbon cable in the phone has five or six connections on it if I recall correctly, and I doubt they'd run a cable for just one chip.


And yes in very familiar with that feeling when something you don't even use quits working... It's a frequent sentiment with custom ROMs my experience, but of course it's not the ROM in this cade as it worked before. Sucks.
 
chrisostomul
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:36 pm

Re: barometer/air pressure sensor

Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:18 am

Most probably I'll let this for another time; maybe I'll order replacement cables if I'll find them on aliexpress.

About custom ROMs: don't know if two-way works because mine is bv9500 (no walkie-talkie inside). I had installed a ressurection remix based on oreo, a gsi based on oreo, a gsi based on pie, and even the pro version official rom. The RR and gsi are not related to russian sites, only the official pro is. RR installed well but I can't remember if it had g-apps or not. Didn't work so well... after few hours rebooted by itself and never recovered. The gsi worked quite good beside the proximity sensor issue (meaning that whenever you're in a phone call, the screen goes off/black and you can't do anything on the phone while the call is active; also you can't end the call). The gsi is basicly a general rom that should work on any android device. If you want to try them, stick with arm64-a-only versions (not a/b versions) and if you want g-apps it's better to flash a version that already have them rather than try to flash them separately.
 
chrisostomul
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:36 pm

Re: barometer/air pressure sensor

Wed Jul 24, 2019 6:43 am

This is where you should start https://github.com/phhusson/treble_expe ... s/releases

I did not test nfc, wireless charging. Camera works with Open Camera(did not test the native camera app), gps works, extra buttons work with xposed edge (i made ptt to toggle flashlight on double tap and take screenshot on long press; the other extra button is set to toggle gps on double tap, rotate screen on long press and take picture/video in single short press); also you can assign new functions to the other buttons and even to the software ones (nav bar). Of course you need to be rooted and have xposed framework installed, but I believe you already knew that.
 
Tech Addict
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:53 am

Re: barometer/air pressure sensor

Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:10 am

Thanks for the info. After I get mine back together (replaced necessary parts, waiting now for battery), I may look into trying again to root and ROM it. I'm just leery of putting a custom ROM on it knowing the chances for the 2-way to work are slim. Then again, I bought a Baofeng since the radio on the phone is next to worthless anyway, so maybe that won't be such a bad thing if I lose that functionality. Then again, there are bunches of tiny little things that peck at me about this phone that having root would fix.

But yeah, to bring or back on topic, I wonder of a custom rooted ROM would have the appropriate driver bits for the barometer ;)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests