Blackview User Forum

 
Ramrod
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:49 pm

4G no longer an option on the phone

Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:09 pm

2 days ago my 9500 (not pro) was on 3G. I went to put it back to 4G but that was greyed out iirc.
Rebooted and found that 3G is the only option, 4G option has disappeared.
Rebooted/airplane mode no joy.
Installed latest update  (yesterday), still no joy.
My service provider isn't reporting a 4G outage either.
Any thoughts?
 
Tech Addict
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:53 am

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:14 pm

Possibly try an older version of the ROM if you can find it, see if the "feature" was removed with that latest update that was just released (wait, want that about two days ago?)... though I cannot understand why they would remove it from a ROM with an update.
 
Ramrod
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:49 pm

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:16 pm

The 4G option vanished from my phone before I installed the update. I was hoping that the update would fix it. On the plus side, my battery life is even better than before now that I'm permanently on 3G!
 
Tech Addict
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:53 am

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:01 pm

I wonder if you've had a failure of the 4g/lte radio hardware itself. I don't know if it's part of the same chip as the 3g.

On the Pro, "*#*#33#*#*" will get you to the engineering menu. I forget what the code is for the non-pro, but there was a thread for it. I believe "CallMeColt" was the one who posted it, but I could be mistaken. Anyway, enter your engineering menu and perform a "single test", and select "rf calibration". It will test the various radios and if the 4g is failed or not it will tell you there.
 
User avatar
blackview_admin
Posts: 6781
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:47 pm

Guys, first always try to perform a factory reset, expecially after a firmware update!
 
Tech Addict
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:53 am

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:48 am

I get where you're coming from, Admin, but respectfully, what use is a device that every time there's a hiccup or an update you have to restore it to factory fresh? Some of us install dozens of apps because we like them or find them useful and reconfiguring the same apps so many times with the same settings makes one consider a brand of phone that doesn't require a factory reset every time a bit goes sideways.

Or me, I have seven active accounts I have to set up with each update. Every factory reset means setting them back up. And my wifi at home. And my wifi at the in-laws'. And the three WiFi ssids we have at work.

And the password safe i have to reinstall. And the password database to reimport. And reconfiguring OpenCamera. And three different web browsers.

Certainly Blackview doesn't expect their customers to go through this routine with every update and hiccup. I never had that problem with my HTC, Samsung, or LG devices. I've already resigned myself to the fact I have to carry my old phone around for the apps and the Blackview phone for the phone and the walkie talkie. But for what benefit? Why go through this hassle? Either carry two devices or spend half my time factory resetting my phone and reconfiguring it. I'd be better off just buying a Yaesu or Kenwood handheld radio and ditching the Blackview because the walkie talkie is the only real reason I bought this device. And while it's cool, it has a lot of growing up to do. Its intercom app is immature yet, not ready for prime time.

But I do understand: you need a known-good base from which to begin the troubleshooting. And don't get me wrong, it's a great concept in a phone. I'm lucky to have a [mostly] properly functioning device and I like it. Thankfully I don't have to reset it over and over like some seem to have to do. But if I did? I'd already have gotten a refund and sent it back. I would not tolerate that.
 
j2shortt
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:18 pm

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:04 am

This guy totally read my mind.. well said sir


Tech Addict wrote:
I get where you're coming from, Admin, but respectfully, what use is a device that every time there's a hiccup or an update you have to restore it to factory fresh? Some of us install dozens of apps because we like them or find them useful and reconfiguring the same apps so many times with the same settings makes one consider a brand of phone that doesn't require a factory reset every time a bit goes sideways.

Or me, I have seven active accounts I have to set up with each update. Every factory reset means setting them back up. And my wifi at home. And my wifi at the in-laws'. And the three WiFi ssids we have at work.

And the password safe i have to reinstall. And the password database to reimport. And reconfiguring OpenCamera. And three different web browsers.

Certainly Blackview doesn't expect their customers to go through this routine with every update and hiccup. I never had that problem with my HTC, Samsung, or LG devices. I've already resigned myself to the fact I have to carry my old phone around for the apps and the Blackview phone for the phone and the walkie talkie. But for what benefit? Why go through this hassle? Either carry two devices or spend half my time factory resetting my phone and reconfiguring it. I'd be better off just buying a Yaesu or Kenwood handheld radio and ditching the Blackview because the walkie talkie is the only real reason I bought this device. And while it's cool, it has a lot of growing up to do. Its intercom app is immature yet, not ready for prime time.

But I do understand: you need a known-good base from which to begin the troubleshooting. And don't get me wrong, it's a great concept in a phone. I'm lucky to have a [mostly] properly functioning device and I like it. Thankfully I don't have to reset it over and over like some seem to have to do. But if I did? I'd already have gotten a refund and sent it back. I would not tolerate that.
 
Ramrod
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:49 pm

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:22 am

blackview_admin wrote:
Guys, first always try to perform a factory reset, expecially after a firmware update!

This happened before the update. None of the service provided options to choose from has 4G now. They are all 2G and 3G.
I'll try that engineer menue code and the factory reset after if no joy.
 
Ramrod
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:49 pm

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:23 am

Tech Addict wrote:
I wonder if you've had a failure of the 4g/lte radio hardware itself.    I don't know if it's part of the same chip as the 3g.

On the Pro, "*#*#33#*#*" will get you to the engineering menu.  I forget what the code is for the non-pro, but there was a thread for it.  I believe "CallMeColt" was the one who posted it, but I could be mistaken.  Anyway, enter your engineering menu and perform a "single test", and select "rf calibration".  It will test the various radios and if the 4g is failed or not it will tell you there.

I'll have a go at that, cheers.
 
Tech Addict
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:53 am

Re: 4G no longer an option on the phone

Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:27 am

I also found another setting last night. In Mobile data settings, hit the three dot menu in the upper right corner and select "mobile networks". In this menu, go to "preferred networks" and (1) make sure yours is still there and has a 4G listing, and (2) if it's not, try adding it. You'll need the 6-digit network identifier to do it though, but that's usually easy to find online.

Can't guarantee it'll help but it might. Good luck!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests